Markets in London

Everyone who knows me, knows that visiting markets is one of my favorite thing to do. And now I'm not talking about crapy cheap markets that every small swedish village has, like "Hallsbergsmarken", I mean markets where you actually can find something except from dry candy that tastes like cardboard.

For me, London is really the right place to be. It's like markets paradise.

 

I would have loved to bring that cheese back home. Most of the pictures are taken by Kristin!

 


English or greek?

How are you? I'm keeping busy, doing London stuff (you know, drinking beer and so on). My new class is of course a little harder than my last, but that is exciting! The grammar is tough, though. Sometimes it really feels like I'm studying some completely different language, an exotic one, like Indonesian or something.

 

Today I meet up with my lovely friend Andrea and we had coffee in a really fancy place. I'm sure gonna miss this! We had a great time. However, we got stuck in the tube for about an hour. When that kind of stuff happens, I'm really glad that I have such a nice roommate. She had started with the food when I finaly came home. Artichokes! Yum!


Blow me... I said show me!

As a swede you learn most of your english from english-speaking movies and songs. As a result of this you know the hole meaning of words and expressions such as boner, giving head, jerk off, jizz and cunt, and all the diffrent uses of the F-word, but you have no fucking idea what an adverb is.

Daily life in London!

Today I’m a little sad. I had to switch to a different English group with a higher level, so tomorrow I’m not going back to the best class ever. Too bad!

 

Anyway. I think I’ve reached something that can be called daily life here in London. Let’s collect daily life points;

 

1. All of a sudden it’s hard to get up of bed in the morning. Before this week we used to get up a few of hours before we even had to, getting ready to do as much things on as little time as possible. 2 p.

2. We’re sighing because of the public transports. The busses aren’t going as often as they should (once every third minute isn’t often enough), there’s always to crowded at the tube (really, do EVERYONE have to go at the same time?!) and delays aren’t okay under any circumstances. 2 p.

3. The feet are finding the way to the right tube line by themselves. 3 p.

4. I’m craving for coffee. All the time. 1 p.

5. We’re “making errands” (like visiting the pharmacy) on the way back from school. 3 p.

6. We’re not going shopping every day. 1 p.

7. People keep asking for directions. 1 p (not really daily life-point worthy, but it means that we actually are melting in pretty good in London).

= 13 points!


Our new darlings!

A good thing with being two blonds in the big city is that we usually don't need to worry about not finding each other in large crowds, because we only need to look for the blond hair. However, there is one problem; Mirrors can be quite misleading. Just ask Stina about it.

Anyway. We went shopping the other day and did some amazing finds. We're really happy about them. Now you might think we spent our money on shoes and that kind of stuff (which would be more like us) but actually, you couldn't be more wrong! We actually bought a lovely frying pan, a pair of magnificent knifes and some other glorious cookware. You see, we've been living here for two whole weeks without it and it was really about to get on our nerves.

 

Our new darlings!



Best birthday ever

So the day before yesterday was my birthday. This was celebrated as "Tinaday" in school and I can just say that I wish everyday was Tinaday! I was so touched by my classmates birthday-suprise that I almost started to cry, and in the morning when I woke up Stina gave me the best gift - a red bag I had been looking at the week before.

Yesterday we went to a salsaclub! I really, really enjoyed it allthough I got really aware of my nonexistent capability to move gracious. But I really need to do that again! I don't know, may be even I can learn how to dance if I really give it a shot.


Alkohol är bra att ha

Stina och jag skriver inköpslista.

Stina: Vad har vi skrivit?
Martina: Ägg, frukt, alkohol, ost, köttfärs, tacosgrejer, pommes och kött. Då har vi ju alkohol, då klarar vi oss sålänge.



Bara för att reda ut detta kan jag ju tillägga att jag sa fel och det är helt okej att säga fel ibland.

Autumn, please!

Okey, I'm gonna try to get out of my Harry Potter-sleep. God I love that book.

London has been really hot today too, and I'm running out of suitable clothes. Is it okey for me to wish for colder weather? Cus' I'm kind of dying in my autumn clothes.

Today we went to see Buckingham palace and Hyde park.

 

I just realized I have like thousand pics of my self when I'm eating. Why is that?

 



It has been a busy week

So, I figured, while beeing in London and all, why not write my blog posts in english? I'm here to improve my english, both in speaking and in writing, so that's what I'm gonna do. And you guys, feel free to correct me! I can assure you that I can take it, cus' I'm sure I'm gonna be better in english than you after my six weeks in London any way, haha.

You probably wonder why I'm at home, bloging on a saturday night. In London. All I can say is that it has been kind of a busy week. Yesterday after class (which we spent in the park, drinking beer. How cool is that?) me and Stina went uptown. We wanted to find that perfect english bar. You know what I'm talking about. That "everything is made out of wood, the guys is wearing football t-shirts and singing, a grumpy old man in the corner looking like he knows a secret, everyone seems to know each other"- kind of bar. And guess what, we found it! It's called The Tiger and it's not far from our flat at all. It's "not wearing heels"-walking distance. Thats good.

Today we went to Notting Hill, no less than The Portobello road market. It was ofcourse really "touristic" but we loved it. My god, the food in the street stalls were amazing! We also found a lot of really pretty stuff, lucky we didn't bring all of our money.

Anyway, what I wanted to say is that we deserve a calm night at home. Eating chips (and some creepy english mint chocolate, and I'm not talking about After eight), drinking coke, reading books and maybe watch Notting Hill (the movie, ofcourse).

Today I bought Harry Potter. I couldn't resist it! That's how I'm spending my saturday!


Damn! I don't know what we were thinking when we didn't buy any of these!


Markets in London

Everyone who knows me, knows that visiting markets is one of my favorite thing to do. And now I'm not talking about crapy cheap markets that every small swedish village has, like "Hallsbergsmarken", I mean markets where you actually can find something except from dry candy that tastes like cardboard.

For me, London is really the right place to be. It's like markets paradise.

 

I would have loved to bring that cheese back home. Most of the pictures are taken by Kristin!

 

2011-10-27 @ 11:15:23 Permalink Allmänt Kommentarer (1) Trackbacks ()


English or greek?

How are you? I'm keeping busy, doing London stuff (you know, drinking beer and so on). My new class is of course a little harder than my last, but that is exciting! The grammar is tough, though. Sometimes it really feels like I'm studying some completely different language, an exotic one, like Indonesian or something.

 

Today I meet up with my lovely friend Andrea and we had coffee in a really fancy place. I'm sure gonna miss this! We had a great time. However, we got stuck in the tube for about an hour. When that kind of stuff happens, I'm really glad that I have such a nice roommate. She had started with the food when I finaly came home. Artichokes! Yum!

2011-10-26 @ 22:59:50 Permalink Allmänt Kommentarer (1) Trackbacks ()


Blow me... I said show me!

As a swede you learn most of your english from english-speaking movies and songs. As a result of this you know the hole meaning of words and expressions such as boner, giving head, jerk off, jizz and cunt, and all the diffrent uses of the F-word, but you have no fucking idea what an adverb is.
2011-10-18 @ 20:45:38 Permalink Allmänt Kommentarer (0) Trackbacks ()


Daily life in London!

Today I’m a little sad. I had to switch to a different English group with a higher level, so tomorrow I’m not going back to the best class ever. Too bad!

 

Anyway. I think I’ve reached something that can be called daily life here in London. Let’s collect daily life points;

 

1. All of a sudden it’s hard to get up of bed in the morning. Before this week we used to get up a few of hours before we even had to, getting ready to do as much things on as little time as possible. 2 p.

2. We’re sighing because of the public transports. The busses aren’t going as often as they should (once every third minute isn’t often enough), there’s always to crowded at the tube (really, do EVERYONE have to go at the same time?!) and delays aren’t okay under any circumstances. 2 p.

3. The feet are finding the way to the right tube line by themselves. 3 p.

4. I’m craving for coffee. All the time. 1 p.

5. We’re “making errands” (like visiting the pharmacy) on the way back from school. 3 p.

6. We’re not going shopping every day. 1 p.

7. People keep asking for directions. 1 p (not really daily life-point worthy, but it means that we actually are melting in pretty good in London).

= 13 points!

2011-10-16 @ 22:23:49 Permalink Allmänt Kommentarer (0) Trackbacks ()


Our new darlings!

A good thing with being two blonds in the big city is that we usually don't need to worry about not finding each other in large crowds, because we only need to look for the blond hair. However, there is one problem; Mirrors can be quite misleading. Just ask Stina about it.

Anyway. We went shopping the other day and did some amazing finds. We're really happy about them. Now you might think we spent our money on shoes and that kind of stuff (which would be more like us) but actually, you couldn't be more wrong! We actually bought a lovely frying pan, a pair of magnificent knifes and some other glorious cookware. You see, we've been living here for two whole weeks without it and it was really about to get on our nerves.

 

Our new darlings!


2011-10-11 @ 01:38:48 Permalink Allmänt Kommentarer (0) Trackbacks ()


Best birthday ever

So the day before yesterday was my birthday. This was celebrated as "Tinaday" in school and I can just say that I wish everyday was Tinaday! I was so touched by my classmates birthday-suprise that I almost started to cry, and in the morning when I woke up Stina gave me the best gift - a red bag I had been looking at the week before.

Yesterday we went to a salsaclub! I really, really enjoyed it allthough I got really aware of my nonexistent capability to move gracious. But I really need to do that again! I don't know, may be even I can learn how to dance if I really give it a shot.

2011-10-08 @ 18:03:52 Permalink Allmänt Kommentarer (0) Trackbacks ()


Alkohol är bra att ha

Stina och jag skriver inköpslista.

Stina: Vad har vi skrivit?
Martina: Ägg, frukt, alkohol, ost, köttfärs, tacosgrejer, pommes och kött. Då har vi ju alkohol, då klarar vi oss sålänge.



Bara för att reda ut detta kan jag ju tillägga att jag sa fel och det är helt okej att säga fel ibland.
2011-10-03 @ 22:15:54 Permalink Allmänt Kommentarer (1) Trackbacks ()


Autumn, please!

Okey, I'm gonna try to get out of my Harry Potter-sleep. God I love that book.

London has been really hot today too, and I'm running out of suitable clothes. Is it okey for me to wish for colder weather? Cus' I'm kind of dying in my autumn clothes.

Today we went to see Buckingham palace and Hyde park.

 

I just realized I have like thousand pics of my self when I'm eating. Why is that?

 


2011-10-03 @ 00:08:57 Permalink Allmänt Kommentarer (0) Trackbacks ()


It has been a busy week

So, I figured, while beeing in London and all, why not write my blog posts in english? I'm here to improve my english, both in speaking and in writing, so that's what I'm gonna do. And you guys, feel free to correct me! I can assure you that I can take it, cus' I'm sure I'm gonna be better in english than you after my six weeks in London any way, haha.

You probably wonder why I'm at home, bloging on a saturday night. In London. All I can say is that it has been kind of a busy week. Yesterday after class (which we spent in the park, drinking beer. How cool is that?) me and Stina went uptown. We wanted to find that perfect english bar. You know what I'm talking about. That "everything is made out of wood, the guys is wearing football t-shirts and singing, a grumpy old man in the corner looking like he knows a secret, everyone seems to know each other"- kind of bar. And guess what, we found it! It's called The Tiger and it's not far from our flat at all. It's "not wearing heels"-walking distance. Thats good.

Today we went to Notting Hill, no less than The Portobello road market. It was ofcourse really "touristic" but we loved it. My god, the food in the street stalls were amazing! We also found a lot of really pretty stuff, lucky we didn't bring all of our money.

Anyway, what I wanted to say is that we deserve a calm night at home. Eating chips (and some creepy english mint chocolate, and I'm not talking about After eight), drinking coke, reading books and maybe watch Notting Hill (the movie, ofcourse).

Today I bought Harry Potter. I couldn't resist it! That's how I'm spending my saturday!


Damn! I don't know what we were thinking when we didn't buy any of these!

2011-10-01 @ 22:34:38 Permalink Allmänt Kommentarer (0) Trackbacks ()


RSS 2.0